Song 10 – Strange Death

I’ve not posted any music in quite a while so here’s the 10th song/demo that I was working late last year (the others can be heard here). I never got round to recording the vocals to it and had a bit of free time a few weekends ago so I thought I might as well do it while I had the time.

I’ve had the guitar part for this song for probably around 6 years and I just couldn’t figure out a melody to go over the top of it. I was determined to figure something out and just kept piecing it together until I had something that worked. The guitar part emerged when I was first learning to play finger-style guitar an I wanted to write something in that style. I must presumably also have wanted a change in time signature since it shifts from 6/8 verses to 4/4 in the chorus.

Having revisited this tune I think time signature changes are something I’d like to do more often. They add a welcome change of character to a song and sometimes I feel like I’m writing in too linear a style. In the case of this song I also bring in the percussion for the verse so that’s really where the rhythm hits hardest.

I’d written the melody for the chorus and it was originally a single voice with no harmony but I wanted to fill it out a bit so I tried signing along a high harmony. Originally the low harmony was the melody but it just felt like it was lacking. It felt like the chorus lost a bit of energy compared to the verses. The high harmony managed to redress that and in the end became the more prominent of the two harmonies.

It’s still quite rough (pretty sure there’s way too much reverb) but now that I’ve finally finished this I can go back to all of the other 9 tracks and rework them into a whole album. It’s a process I wanted to start months ago but because I hadn’t finished this one I decided to delay it and that just delayed everything.

Something else I’m thinking of doing is stripped back, acoustic versions of most of the songs that aren’t loaded with delay. I don’t know if I’d record new version or just remix the final ones without all the effects but it could be interesting to have another perspective on the songs.

Anyway, enough jibberjabber – have a listen!

Listen

Lyrics

Light at the end of the day
With shadows sent long by the sun
Gives way to the gathering night
And shatters illusions of life

I’ll vanish, swallowed by fears
Thought I’ll fight to keep them at bay
This feels like something I could fail
Feels like a strange death

Summer has taken its toll
And I’m not prepared for the cold
I’ve reached my abilities end
My limits are blocking my way

I’ll vanish, swallowed by fears
Thought I’ll fight to keep them at bay
This feels like something I could fail
Feels like a strange death

Hold me, I’m close to the ledge
Help me, I’m blocking my way

I’ll vanish, swallowed by fears
Thought I’ll fight to keep them at bay
This feels like something I could fail
Feels like a strange death

Leave a Reply

