Demo 9 – Time to Go

So this is the penultimate demo I’ll be posting. Then I’ll be taking a bit of time to evaluate, re-work and re-arrange them so that they all seem like they fit together. It’ll give a me a bit more time to work on my Ambisonics VSTs as well now that I’m not so much in songwriting mode.

This song originally was originally inspired when I was thinking back to last year’s BBC documentary “Choosing to Die” in which Sir Terry Pratchett explores the issue of assisted dying. It also happened that long time campaign Tony Nicklinson died just as I was finishing the lyrics and I almost completely scrapped the song because it just didn’t feel like it was possible to do the issue justice with my limited lyrical talent. In the end I decided to keep it and just keep trying to work on it to improve it between now and recording the final version.

Each verse has the narrator addressing a different group. The first verse is to his friends and family, hoping they’ll understand his choice. The second is to the courts who have the final say on the legal issue. And finally the third verse is to the church or those who see what he wants as morally wrong, concluding that it is up to the individual to make the choice that is right for them. Who else has the right to weigh a life than the individual themselves? The bridges are also directed at the family, with the narrator hoping to leave with the simple joy of a cup of tea and being with his loved ones.

Musically it’s a simple guitar and voice song although the guitar tuning is one I’ve never used before (Open Bmaj7 with two strings tuned to the same note). I’m going to have to explore a lot more open tunings with different chords. I’m well used to open major tunings but after this one I’ll definitely be trying to expand that. I’m looking forward to recording this one with my new guitar (which is apparently arriving tomorrow) to see if it changes the feel of it in any way.

This demo will probably be quite close to the final version in terms of arrangements. There might be some subtle harmonies and things put throughout it but I think the stripped down approach fits better with the song’s subject matter. The main change will be that (hopefully) the guitar and vocal performances will be a lot tighter than they are here!

Listen

[audio http://dl.dropbox.com/u/90008602/Time%20to%20Go.mp3]

Lyrics

At the end of my days
When the pain’s too great to stay
I hope you’ll understand
That life has forced my hand
And is it wrong that
I just want choose
When it’s my time to go? x2

At the end of my days
Just what more is there to say?
And why’s it such a fight
To exercise my right?
And is it wrong that
I just want choose
When it’s my time to go? x2

And when I’m not longer me
Just give me a cup of tea
And kiss my head
Hold my hand but let me go

At the end of my days
It’s my life for me to weigh.
And it’s not wrong that
I just want to choose
When it’s my time to go x2

And when I’m not longer me
Just give me a cup of tea
And kiss my head
Hold my hand but let me go
Now I’m not longer me
Just give me a cup of tea
And kisss my head
Hold my hand but let me…

Leave a Reply

