Demo 6 – Times

‘Times’ is the most “rock” of the songs I’ve demo’d so far. Unusually for me this song actually started out with the bassline instead of the guitar, leading to something a bit more driving than the other songs.

I’m not really 100% sure how this song will fit alongside the others without some rejigging but at least the acoustic guitars in the chorus tie it in slightly. Maybe adding a bit more electric guitar to the other songs would help. There’s also the possibility of adding a few more predominantly electric songs down the line. On previous albums I’ve had much more electric guitar than on this album and I like the variety that gives so I don’t see why this one shouldn’t have a couple of rockers as well.

As always, the drums on this are very rough. When I demo songs I tend to be very lazy about the drums because I know I’ll probably redo them when it comes time to properly record them. This fact that this song is more of a rock song mean that I’ll either have to shoot for some more realistic sounding drums or adjust the rest of the song that it doesn’t sound out of place with more synthetic percussion. I think that’s probably the more likely option but I don’t want to lose  any energy so I’ll have to be careful.

Lyrically this song is as overtly political as I’m ever likely to get. Each of the three verses corresponds to one of the three main political parties in the UK and chorus is more about the banks and all the trouble they’ve caused since the 2008 crash. It’s not exactly deep but what do you expect from a mathematician? 😛

Listen

Lyrics

Little yellow bird is dying
Broken at the foot of the tree
Came crashing down while it was flying
For all to see

Times are lean, their crimes are
Catching up with us
Gilts and promises are
Breaking into rust

Wilting crimson rose is blowing
With each and every change of the wind
Its thorns are blunted, it’s not growing
For how it’s sinned

Times are lean, their crimes are
Catching up with us
Gilts and promises are
Breaking into rust

Rotten azure tree is clinging
With roots in how life used to be
Branches creak, the axe it’s swinging
Falls with glee

Times are lean, their crimes are
Catching up with us
Gilts and promises are
Breaking into rust

Leave a Reply

