Demo 2 – Cold Design

I’ve decided to get all of the songs I’ve already recorded rough versions of out of the road before I start writing about writing new songs so here’s another one I made earlier! This song was written in (I think) late summer last year. As with 95% of everything I’ve ever written it started out as a guitar piece. However in the current demo mix the guitar is fairly  low down and almost performs more of a rhythm role than a melodic one. The focus, especially once the chorus hits, is much more on the skittery percussion, drums, bass and vocals.

Like ‘Fought the Things‘ this is a pseudo-commentary/political song. I had specific circumstances in mind when writing it but it’s broadly about someone looking at a situation that is adversely affecting them and being unable to see any reason why it should be happening. Even though it started life as a comment on a specific social-political event/situation it doesn’t really have to be taken that way. I’m not a good enough lyricist to attempt any cutting satire so I’ll just keep the lyrics vague for now!

In the eventual rerecording I don’t think I’m going to change too much. The instrumental section between the post-solo chorus and the ending will probably have some stuff over the top of it to spice it up and the performances will be tightened up, but that’s all I can think of at the minute. Probably a fair bit more variation to the drums in the chorus.

The main change I want to make is to change how the verses are sung. At the minute they’re much too… I’m not sure what word I’m looking for. There’s too much oomph. If you listen to the remix below you’ll hear a different vocal performance and I’ll be going back to one like that. I think a more subdued vocal in the verse fits both the music and the lyrics better. In the current demo I just got it wrong. Maybe I thought the song was going to turn into something more rock-y than it did and needed a more aggressive performance, who knows. At least I can go back and undo it in the final recording!

That’s all on this one for now. It’s one of my favourite songs that I’ve written recently so I’ll be sure it won’t get dropped from the final list of songs. Be sure to check out the remix below!

[As a side note, I really need a better structure for these posts. Any suggestions on that?]

Listen

Additional Credits: Bass guitar by Simon Fay.

Remix

This song already has a remix! It’s a glitchy version by the very talented Simon Fay and I personally love it. It’s so completely different to anything I’d be able to come up with but would love to be able to. It’s actually based on an earlier recording to my own demo, hence the different vocal performance. You should listen to it. Hell, if you only listen to one version you should make it this one.

Lyrics

[VERSE 1]
I see patterns but
None of them make sense.
One more cut
Another door you’ve shut
I don’t understand
Where you’re coming from.
Or what grand
Plan you command

[CHORUS]
This cold design’s tearing my tendons
It’s broken the spine that’s holding me up
Your cold design is my Armageddon
It’s ending the world that’s around me

[VERSE 2]
This can’t be my mind
None of it makes sense.
Years unwind
With nothing left to find
No more ways to pray
Many ways to end
If we stray
In this power play

[CHORUS]
This cold design’s tearing my tendons
It’s broken the spine that’s holding me up
Your cold design is my Armageddon
It’s ending the world that’s around me

[ENDING]
This cold design’s tearing my tendons
It’s broken the spine that’s holding me up
Your cold design is my Armageddon
It’s ended the world that’s around me

Leave a Reply

