Demo 1 – Fought the Things

This was the first song in this batch of songs. It was written in Novermber 2010. Originally I’d planned to write a load more and have them finished by summer 2011 but that never happened.

It sets the tone for most of the rest of the songs that will follow. It’s a bit of a political comment, taken from a personal perspective. Verses 1 and 2 (written out below) are about, respectively, the hope for change after the 2010 General Election in the UK and the disappointment with what how seemed to be going at the time. Verse 3 is a short comment on how we were (and are) constantly being told by the government that tough things have to happen that will be uncomfortable but that it’s for our own good. A year and a half since the song was written and the situation doesn’t seem to have changed much.

Musically this demo started out as a simple fingerpicked acoustic guitar track. The percussion was added to give more of an ebb and flow than if it had stayed completely acoustic. The whole song is awash with background vocals, harmonies and various vocalisations. I’m a very big fan of mass vocals in the chorus and this song is actually a pretty good example of vocal arrangements that will be prevalent throughout many of the later songs.

I’m not 100% sure what I’ll be changing in this song apart from rerecording all of the performances (especially the guitar!). I’m tempted to make the percussion much more electronic sounding and a bit more random or glitchy in the verses. There’s the chance I’ll add some bass during the chorus to really fill it out. The only thing I’m really sure is staying is the vocal arrangement. There will no doubt be tweaks but the general structure will remain.

I’ve uploaded the rough demo version to soundcloud so if anybody happens to read this and wants to give suggestions then fire away!

Listen

Lyrics

[Verse 1]
I lost my faith in this a long, long time ago
But I never lost the hope
That what was coming’d make it all worthwhile and
You wouldn’t let me choke

[Verse 2]
I cannot deal with this it’s gouging at my mind
And the thought just makes me wretch
There’s nothing left in me to throw up anymore
I’ve nothing more inside

[Chorus]
I fought the things that
I think I need and
Were coming for me
I found the things that
Mean nothing to me
They’re following me

[Verse 3]
I shouldn’t feel like this, you’re always telling me
Good things come to those who wait
But the horizon’s staying cold and far away
It’s the coldest night so far

far…

[Chorus]
I fought the things that
I think I need and
Were coming for me
I found the things that
Mean nothing to me
They’re following me
[Bridge]
I lost my faith in this a long, long time ago
Nothing came to make it all worthwhile

while…

[Chorus]
I fought the things that
I think I need and
Were coming for me
I found the things that
Mean nothing to me
They’re following me

3 responses to “Demo 1 – Fought the Things

  1. Pingback: Song 2 – Cold Design | Circle Sounds

  2. Pingback: Song 5 – Not My World | Circle Sounds

  3. Pingback: Demo 5 – Not My World | Circle Sounds

Leave a Reply

