What am I doing here?

So, first post and I feel like I should explain myself!

Who am I?

I’m a PhD student at Queen’s University Belfast. I’m in the School of Creative arts and am based in the Sonic Arts Research Centre. I’m on the more technical side of the department so I don’t get much of a musical outlet during my work. During my undergraduate course (MSci in Applied Maths and Physics) I would spend my spare time writing and recording music but that’s slipped a bit as I’ve become a bit busier.

What am I doing here?

Basically I’ll be using this blog as an outlet to document some of my music making process. Over the last two-ish years I’ve found that I don’t make as much time for writing and recording music as I’d like to. This is partly to do with being busy but also to do with being a bit lazy. And I’m not so busy that I can’t make any time for recording. I just need to be more efficient with my time.

I’ve also got about 3 albums worth of material that I’ve recorded in the past so I’ll probably do some revamps of those and do a few posts about them. They’ll probably just be a chance for me to look back a couple of years in my life and get nostalgic 😛

What’s my plan?

Once I get a few initial posts out of the way I’ll be documenting the development of a group of songs (which will hopefully become a more cohesive album) that I’m writing and recording. I’ll be recording them all myself, perhaps occasionally enlisting some friends to help out, and then I’ll throw them up on bandcamp.com once they’re in a decent state. I’m sure I’ll put up some work in progress ideas here as well.

Is that it?

Not quite. I’ve also been working on some VST plugins that do Ambisonic (http://www.ambisonia.com/format_ambisonic) processing to allow the audio to be spatialised. I’d be doing conventional stereo mixes of what I write but I’m be very keen to do some Ambisonics mixes as well. I don’t know how many people will be able to listen in a surround sound environment but that’s mostly for my own amusement really. The plugins will hopefully be made publicly available but I’m not sure if it will be here or at the SARC website. Wherever they end up I’ll be sure to post about it here.

One response to “What am I doing here?

  1. Pingback: What is Ambisonics? « Circle Sounds

Leave a Reply

